Soliloquy Stakes Set for NZB Filly of the Year Series Debut

Friday, October 23, 2020

Miss Aotearoa (NZ), winner of the first leg of the 2020-21 NZB Filly of the Year Series. 

The New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year Series has been expanded to 11 legs this season with the addition of the $70,000 Group Three Waikato Stud Soliloquy Stakes (1400m), which will be run at Te Rapa on Saturday. 

The Soliloquy Stakes is traditionally run at Ellerslie, but will be held at Te Rapa this year as part of the spring reshuffle forced by the COVID-19 interruptions earlier in the year.

The addition of the Soliloquy Stakes to the NZB Filly of the Year Series itinerary means an earlier introduction of the Series to the northern region, which has traditionally not been involved until the Group Two Eight Carat Classic (1600m) at Ellerslie on Boxing Day.

“Waikato Stud are delighted to partner with the Waikato Racing Club in sponsoring the Waikato Stud Soliloquy Stakes,” Waikato Stud principal Mark Chittick said.

“With the race now being included in the prestigious NZB Filly of the Year Series, it will provide an ideal target for northern fillies as they head towards the Group One New Zealand 1000 Guineas (1600m) three weeks later at Riccarton.”

Saturday’s Soliloquy Stakes is guaranteed to produce at least a new co-leader in the 2020-21 NZB Filly of the Year Series.

The first leg of the Series was last month’s Group Three Gold Trail Stakes (1200m) at Hastings, whose winner Miss Aotearoa (NZ) (Per Incanto) has since been side-lined with a minor injury.

Gold Trail Stakes placegetters Sweet Anna (NZ) (Tavistock) and Babylon Berlin (All Too Hard) are both back for the second leg of the Series, along with the narrowly beaten fourth and fifth placegetters Tokorangi (NZ) (Redwood) and Taroni (NZ) (Showcasing).

The field also features proven stakes performers De La Terre (NZ) (Reliable Man), Bonita Aurelia (NZ) (Sweynesse), Kelly Renee (NZ) (Vespa), Atishu (NZ) (Savabeel) and Tivaan Warrior (NZ) (Swiss Ace).

Established in 1988, the Soliloquy Stakes boasts an exceptional honour roll with the likes of Group One winners Olga’s Pal (NZ) (Straight Strike), Staring (NZ) (Fiesta Star), Savannah Success (Success Express), Imananabaa (Anabaa), Media Sensation (I Am Invincible) and Travelling Light (NZ) (El Roca).

Eventual Filly of the Year champion Dijon Bleu (NZ) (Burgundy) won the race in 2017, while last season’s dominant filly Jennifer Eccles (NZ) (Rip Van Winkle) finished third behind Travelling Light 12 months ago. Subsequent Group One winner Loire (NZ) (Redoute’s Choice) also ran in last year’s race. In 2005 it was won by Vegas Showgirl (NZ) (Al Akbar), best known as the dam of the incomparable Winx (Street Cry).

Like all other Group Three races in the NZB Filly of the Year Series, the Soliloquy Stakes is worth 6 points to the winner, with 3 points for second and 1.5 points for third.

The Waikato Stud Soliloquy Stakes will be run as Race 5 on Saturday with a start time of 2:57pm.