Southern Filly of the Year

NZB has been the proud sponsor of the Southern Filly of the Year Series since the 2000-01 season.

Reputabelle (NZ) claims the 2021-22 NZB Southern Filly of the Year Series crown. 

The Series is an important part of the southern racing calendar, designed to assist with the long-term growth and success of the New Zealand breeding industry by providing opportunities for good fillies to earn valuable black-type. 

The title is awarded to the three-year-old filly who succeeds in winning the most points after the completion of the four races in the Series, with the trophy awarded to connections at the South Island Awards. The 2022-23 Southern Filly of the Year winner will also receive an insurance policy from NZB Insurance to the value of $50,000 + GST.

The runaway winner of the 2022-21 season is Reputabelle (NZ) (Pins), who finished on the table with 16 points. A class above her opposition, Reputable won two of the three legs of the Southern Filly of the Year Series, claiming the Listed NZB Airfreight Stakes (1400m) and the Listed NZB Insurance Stakes (1600m) before running a brave third in the Listed NZB Warstep Stakes (2000m). She has now had eight starts for four wins and a third, amassing $99,090 in prizemoney.

In the event of two fillies having equal points following the running of the final leg, the filly with the best finishing position in the NZB Warstep Stakes will be determined as the winner of the Series. 

By sponsoring this coveted Series, NZB is working to ensure the owners, breeders, and trainers in the New Zealand racing and breeding industry are attractively rewarded.

2022-23 NZB Southern Filly of the Year Series Schedule

Date Race Name Stake Dist. Club Winner
17/9/22 L. New Zealand Bloodstock Canterbury Belle Stakes $65,000 1200m Canterbury JC  
4/3/23 L. NZB Airfreight Sakes $65,000 1400m Otago RC  
15/4/23 L. NZB Insurance Stakes $65,000 1600m Canterbury JC  
22/4/23 L. New Zealand Bloodstock Warstep Stakes $65,000 2000m Canterbury JC  

Points Available

Listed 7 4 2


Southern Filly Of The Year Honour Roll

2021-22 Reputabelle (NZ) (Pins)
2020-21 Atishu (NZ) (Savabeel x Posy)
2019-20                     Miss Federer (NZ) (Swiss Ace x Halobelle)
2018-19 Emily Margaret (NZ) (Pins x Seven Schillings)
2017-18 Courte Zarindi (NZ) (Any Suggestion x Courte Noire)
2016-17 Showemup (NZ) (Showcasing x Quizzical)
2015-16 All In Vogue (NZ) (Pins x Tall Poppy), Honor That (NZ) (Darci Brahma x Equals That), No Pushover (NZ) (Pins x Catch The Day) & Windborne (NZ) (Darci Brahma x  Sweet Dreams Baby)
2014-15 Consensus (Postponed x Kate Cross)
2013-14 Madam Victoria (High Chaparral x Royal Madam)
2012-13 If I Can I Can (Iffraaj x Recollection)
2011-12 Ortem Fire (Gallant Guru x Emerald Fire)
2010-11 Final Touch (Kashani x My Lydia), Princess Emmy (King's Chapel x Hoot 'N' Holler), No Choice (Coats Choice x Winkum) & Fast Love (Fastnet Rock x Make Me Dream)
2009 - 10 Mercury Mistress (No Excuse Needed x Flytaine), Ishiabeel (Ishiguru x Danceabeel), Brown Eyed Grace (Van Nistelrooy x Lycsis) & Chaparella (High Chaparral x Peak Time)
2008 - 09 Bird (Danasinga x Quiescent)
2007 - 08 Belmont Cat (Felix The Cat x Morgan Glory)
2006 - 07 Grace Park (Danske x Stella Stargazer)
2005 - 06 Ombre Rose (O'Reilly x Lady Chanele)
2004 - 05 Royal Miss (Volksraad x Bashful Lady)
2003 - 04 Classic Clare (Gold Brose x Funny Features)
2002 - 03 Tonic (Blues Traveller x Sent To War)
2001 - 02 Pledge (Mellifont x Erudite)
2000 - 01 Besty Coup (Justice Prevails x Gay Sonnet)
1999 - 00 Joan's Best
1998 - 99 Iguazu
1997 - 98 Finally
1996 -97 Dame Clay 
1995 - 96 Mercurous
1994 - 95 Tartan Tights
1993 - 94 Clipper Run
1992 - 93 Dancing Flojo
1991 - 92 Cool Rocka
1990 - 91 Janet Quill
1989 - 90 Seamist
1988 - 89 Fly Baby
1987 - 88 Ultra Sound
1986 - 87 Rakau Tiffany
1985 - 86 Snowdrift
1984 - 85 Canterbury Belle 
1983 - 84 Hint
1982 - 83 Queen's Pal
1981 - 82 Sea Princess
1980 - 81 Powley