Karaka Million Series

Two Million Reasons

The Karaka Million Series offers graduates of NZB’s National Yearling Sales Series the opportunity to compete for a share in two $1 million features.

Just twelve short months after the yearlings make their sale ring debut, in 2022 they are eligible to compete in the lucrative $1 million Karaka Million 2YO and in 2023 they will be able to contest the $1 million Karaka Million 3YO Classic.

The Karaka Million Twilight Meeting, held at Auckland Racing Club’s Ellerslie Racecourse on the eve of the Sale, will host the two million-dollar features, the CollinsonForex Karaka Cup and a support card of three Group races cementing its position as the country’s richest race meeting.

The “KM” logo displayed on the nominations and fields produced by NZTR denotes that the horse is qualified for a start in the Karaka Million 2YO, the Karaka Million 3YO Classic and the CollinsonForex Karaka Cup.

All yearlings and select weanlings purchased at Karaka are eligible for the Series. To nominate your purchase following a Sale, email [email protected] or call +64 9 298 0055. Entry deadlines apply, check the Terms & Conditions for the relevant sale for which the horse was purchased from. 

The Race Towards the 2022 DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka Million 2YO

2021 $1M Karaka Million 2YO winner On The Bubbles

A Restricted Listed 1200m race for two-year-olds, the order of entry for the $1m 2022 DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka Million 2YO will be determined by prizemoney won with the field limited to 14 starters. The juveniles will be hunting valuable earnings around the country as they try to earn themselves a coveted start.

In 2021, Te Akau Racing made it an incredible five wins in a row in the million dollar feature with On The Bubbles (Brazen Beau) carrying the tangerine colours to victory and continuing the Te Akau and Jamie Richards domination.

Eligible Horses for the 2022 Karaka Million 2YO Race (Sold at Karaka 2021)

Second Share of $1 million in the Karaka Million 3YO Classic

2021 Karaka Million 3YO Classic winner Aegon (NZ).

Formerly named the Karaka 3YO Mile, the stakes quadrupled since its $250,000 running in 2012 to the inaugural $1 million running in 2018. Also carrying Restricted Listed status, in 2022 the three-year-olds race over 1600m in their second chance at $1 million with the field limited to 18 horses.

The order of entry is determined by NZTR domestic ratings – those with the lowest ratings will be eliminated first.

In 2021, star three-year-old Aegon (NZ) (Sacred Falls) became the first horse in history to win both the Group One New Zealand 2000 Guineas (1600m) and the $1m Karaka Million 3YO Classic (1600m). A $150,000 purchase from Waikato Stud’s draft by Andrew Forsman who shares ownership with the Zame Partnership.

Eligible Horses for the 2022 Karaka Million 3YO Classic Race (Sold at Karaka 2020)

2022 $100,000 CollinsonForex Karaka Cup

2021 CollinsonForex Karaka Cup winner Tiptronic (NZ).

Run over 2200m, graduates are eligible to compete in the $100,000 CollinsonForex Karaka Cup (formely names the Karaka Stayers Cup) for the remainder of their careers.

The order of entry will be determined by NZTR domestic ratings – in the event of horses being on equal ratings these horses will be separated by the Handicapper based on each of the horse’s last three starts.

Proven top-level performer Tiptronic (NZ) (O’Reilly) returned to top form with a commanding victory in the 2021 $100,000 CollinsonForex Karaka Cup (2200m) at Ellerslie. Bought for $100,000 from Waikato Stud’s draft at the 2015 Premier Sale by Richardson Racing.

Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2016)
Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2017)
Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2018)
Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2019)
Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2020)

Eligible Horses (sold at Karaka 2021)

Karaka Million Terms & Conditions - 2021 New Zealand Bloodstock Sales Series
Karaka Million Terms & Conditions - 2022 New Zealand Bloodstock Sales Series

Karaka Million 2YO Honour Roll

2021 On The Bubbles  Brazen Beau x More Bubbles Leanach Lodge $90,000 Book 1 Mr DC Ellis
2020 Cool Aza Beel (NZ) Savabeel x Cool 'N' Sassy Fairdale Stud $150,000 Book 1 Mr DC Ellis
2019 Probabeel (NZ)  Savabeel x Far Fetched Waikato Stud $380,000 Book 1  Mr DC Ellis
2018 Avantage Fastnet Rock x Asavant The Oaks Stud $210,000 Premier Sale  Mr DC Ellis
2017 Melody Belle (NZ) Commands x Meleka Belle Haunui Farm $57,500 Premier Sale Mr DC Ellis
2016 Xiong Feng (NZ)   Iffraaj x Stray Monovale Farm  $30,000 Select Sale ZL Mok
2015 Hardline (NZ) Showcasing x Midnight Breaker Hallmark Stud $130,000 Select Sale  LB Racing
2014 Vespa (NZ)  Elusive City x Miss Avalon Valachi Downs  $34,000 Select Sale  Cavallo Agistment Centre
2013 Ruud Awakening Bernardini x Dawn Almighty Westbury Stud  $90,000 Premier Sale Go Racing Ltd  
2012 Ockham's Razor (NZ)  Any Suggestion x Shadow Ray Rich Hill Stud  $170,000 Premier Sale Bahen Bloodstock
2011  Fort Lincoln Charge Forward x Belle Toujours Curraghmore $110,000 Premier Sale Lisa Latta Racing Stables
2010 Sister Havana (NZ)  General Nediym x Ultima Vita  Shelby Park  $40,000 Select Sale Aquanita Racing
2009 The Heckler  Lucky Owners x Comedy Café Woodridge Farm $70,000 Select Sale Peter Walker


Karaka Million 3YO Classic Honour Roll

2021 Aegon (NZ) Sacred Falls x Toss Up Waikato Stud $150,000 Book 1 Mr AC Forsman
2020 Probabeel (NZ) Savabeel x Far Fetched   Waikato Stud $380,000 Book 1 Mr DC Ellis
2019 Long Leaf  Fastnet Rock x Frustrating   Curraghmore   $750,000 Premier Sale BBA Ireland
2018 Scott Base (NZ) Dalghar x Extra Celestial  Brighthill Farm $70,000 Select Sale Chris Rutten Bloodstock


Your Invite Oncourse

Karaka Million Twilight Meeting at Ellerslie

The 2022 Karaka Million Twilight extravaganza will showcase two million dollar features at New Zealand's most lucrative race day.

Venue: Auckland Racing Club
Date: Saturday 22 January 2022
Dress: Cocktail Racewear
Tickets: www.ellerslie.co.nz
Watch: Trackside 1 or LoveRacing.co.nz

Race Card:

$1M Doubletree by Hilton Karaka Million 2YO (1200m, RL)
$1M Karaka Million 3YO Classic (1600m, RL)
$100,000 CollinsonForex Karaka Cup (2200m)
$100,000 G2 Westbury Classic (1400m)
$70,000 G3 Brighthill Farm Concorde Handicap (1200m)
$70,000 G3 Cambridge Stud Almanzor Trophy (1200m)