Online Bidding Available at


New Zealand Bloodstock Filly Of The Year - Series Wrap

Wednesday, March 3, 2004


The result of the prestigious New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year Series had already been determined before Saturday's final fillies series event, with the now deceased Taatletail (Faltaat x Defensive Lady) having an earned herself an unassailable lead.

In the first race of the series, the Gr. 3 Highview Stakes in early September, Taatletail made her mark on the Filly of the Year Series. Taatletail gave her owners Peter Glover, Paola Meo, Stephen Just, Brian Foster, Dean McLuckie and Graeme Rogerson the hat trick of wins they had been hoping for, keeping her unbeaten record intact when winning the 1200m event.

Taatletail then went on to win the Gr. 3 Indian Danehill Lowland Stakes (1400m) in grand fashion with 2-1/4 lengths to her rivals - increasing her lead in the series.

Early competition in the Series came in the form of the Moroney & Scott trained Sarah Vee (End Sweep x Captivating) who won the Listed ARC Soliloquy Stakes (1400m) and emerged as a new contender for the prestigious title.

The first Gr. 1 race in the series was held at Riccarton Park, Christchurch in early November.

Taatletail fought strongly when challenged by Kainui Belle (Kashani x Lady Ukiah) and won the Gr. 1 New Zealand Bloodstock 1000 Guineas (1600m) by little under a length taking her points total to 24. Kainui Belle looked a strong challenger for the title and as the series progressed it developed into a hot contest between the two.

Kainui Belle, trained by Wayne & Vanessa Hillis and raced by her breeders Phil & Jackie Rogers of Taupiri, won the Gr. 3 Robertson Holden Eulogy Stakes over 1600m and then on Boxing Day took out the Gr. 2 Eight Carat Classic (1600m) closing in on Taatletail's lead and only behind her by three points.

Kainui Belle's second placing in the Gr. 2 New Zealand Bloodstock Royal Stakes to Buckle My Shoe (Rory's Jester x Rose of Marizza) earned her enough points to take the lead in the series by one.

Lisa Latta trained Wharite Princess (High Royal Highness x Regal Visit) added to the mix when winning the Gr. 1 ING New Zealand Oaks (2400m) at Trentham, Wellington and earning 13.5 points and third place in the series for her efforts.

The penultimate race of the fillies' series was the Gr. 2 Cambridge Stud Sir Tristram Fillies Classic, held at the Waikato Racing Club.

Taatletail proved too strong for her rivals winning the 2000m event and securing an unbeatable 32 points in the New Zealand Bloodstock 2003 / 2004 Filly of the Year Series.

The 2003 / 2004 New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year, Taatletail, was trained by Graeme Rogerson & Stephen Autridge. A syndicate of six owned Taatletail, they were: Peter Glover, Paola Meo, Stephen Just, Brian Foster, Dean McLuckie and Graeme Rogerson. Macau based businesswoman Deborah Ho bred Taatletail.

The syndicate will be presented with the Filly of the Year trophy and prize money at the annual NZTR Mercedes racing awards dinner held later this year.

The hugely prestigious New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year Series is strongly contested each year and has an attractive prize pool for filly owners, trainers and breeders, amounting to $25,000. The winning owner receives $15,000, the winning trainer $5,000 and the winning breeder $5,000.

The Series title has been won in previous years by the likes of Vapour Trail, Singalong, Sarwatch, Savannah Success, Tycoon Lil, Tartan Belle, Alacrity, Tartan Tights, Snap, Nimue & Lady Agnes to name just a few.

For information on the Filly of the Year Series view the New Zealand Bloodstock website Or contact Karen McAnulty (09) 298 0055 or email [email protected]