Karaka Millions Mega Maiden Series Races Announced

11 June 2024

Karaka Millions riches are set to be amplified next season, with horses eligible for the lucrative NZB Karaka Millions Series racing for an additional $1m in bonuses.

This exciting series is comprised of 40 non-Saturday Maiden races to be run from September 2024 through to May 2025.

A $25,000 bonus will be struck if a Karaka Millions eligible horse, three years or older, wins one of the races shown below. The winning owner(s) will receive $20,000 and the successful trainer $5,000.

“This series is a great opportunity to boost field sizes across the country outside of our premier racedays, and will give those Karaka Million Eligible horses a chance to compete for a significant bonus,” Darin Balcombe, NZTR COO said

“The selected races provide a spread of region and distance to provide maximum opportunity. We are excited to bring this series to the regions.”


The following conditions also apply to the 40 races:

No horse that is KM eligible will be given preference in terms of entry to a race, normal maiden balloting conditions will apply.

In the event of a KM Bonus race being divided KM Eligible horses will be placed in one race. This will be given priority.


Date Club & Venue Race Condition & Distance
Friday 20 September Taupo RC@Taupo Mdn 1200m
Sunday 22 September Waverley RC@Waverley Mdn 1200m
Wednesday 25 September Sth Canterbury@Timaru Mdn 1200m
Sunday 29 September Te Aroha JC@Te Aroha Mdn 1200m
Wednesday 16 October ATR@Pukekohe Park Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 23 October Gore RC@Gore Mdn 1335m
Thursday 24 October Taranaki RI@New Plymouth Mdn 1400m
Wednesday 30 October Te Aroha JC@Te Aroha Mdn 1200m
Sunday 3 November Otaki-Maori RC@Otak Mdn 1200m
Thursday 21 November Sth Canterbury RC@Timaru Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 27 November Te Aroha JC@Te Aroha Mdn 2200m
Wednesday 11 December Hawke’s Bay RI@Hastings Mdn 2000m
Wednesday 18 December Whangarei RC@Ruakaka Mdn 1400m
Wednesday 18 December Ashburton RC@Ashburton Mdn 1200m
Wednesday 1 January Riverton RC@Riverton Mdn 1400m
Thursday 2 January Racing Tauranga@Tauranga Mdn 1200m
Thursday 16 January WTR@Te Rapa Mdn 1600m
Monday 20 January Wanganui JC@Whanganui Mdn 1340m
Thursday 23 January Southland RC@Invercargill Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 29 January Hawke’s Bay RI@Hastings Mdn 1200m
Friday 31 January WTR@Te Rapa Mdn 1400m
Thursday 6 February WairarapaRC@Tauherenikau Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 12 February Te ArohaJC@Te Aroha Mdn 1200m
Wednesday 19 February CanterburyJC@Riccarton Park Mdn 2000m
Friday 21 February Wanganui JC @Whanganui Mdn 1340m
Wednesday 26 February Taupo RC @Taupo Mdn 1400m
Sunday 2 March Marton JC@Awapuni Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 5 March CanterburyJC @R iccarton Park Mdn 1400m
Wednesday 12 March Sth WaikatoRC@ Matamata Mdn 2000m
Sunday 23 March Matamata RC @ Matamata Mdn 1400m
Wednesday 26 March Egmont RC @ Hawera Mdn1400m
Wednesday 2 April ATR@ Pukekohe Park Mdn 1600m
Wednesday 16 April Ashburton RC @ Ashburton Mdn 1200m
Thursday 17 April Matamata RC @ Matamata Mdn 1200m
Monday 21 April Otaki-Maori RC @ Otaki Mdn 2000m
Wednesday 30 April Hawke’s Bay RI @ Hastings Mdn 1200m
Thursday 1 May Canterbury JC @ Riccarton Syn Mdn 1400m
Sunday 11 May Wanganui JC @ Whanganui Mdn 1340m
Friday 23 May Otago RC @ Wingatui Mdn 1600m
Sunday 25 May ĀTR @ Ellerslie Mdn 1500m